My Interview with a Fellow Blogger

Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit. On the contrary, in Christ we speak before God with sincerity, as those sent from God. 

-2 Corinthians 2:17, NIV

I recently had the chance to ask a friend of mine how blogging has effected her life. Because I am new to the blogging universe, this was the perfect opportunity to ask the questions that have been on my mind since I began.

Graphic from Carrie's new website, which will launch soon.

Graphic from Carrie’s new website, which will launch soon.

Carrie Henning is the author of carrieisreborn, a wordpress blog that has seen a lot of love from the woman who puts her time and effort into making it something great! Carrie has provided some terrific insight into what it is to be a blogger.

Through her blog, Carrie shares her Christian faith and opens up about what she is learning from God each and every day.

As a Christian myself, I feel a cameraderie with Carrie. Ultimately, both of our goals are to glorify God in everything we do. That especially includes what we write in our blogs. Even if my blog is about PCOS, I am not one to shy away from sharing Christ through it all.

Her popularity has inspired Carrie to create her own website. Launching soon, Reborn and Rooted will be Carrie’s source of inspiring other women in their walk with Christ. Definitely be on the lookout for the amazing work she will be doing through her new blog!

Carrie is a woman with a beautiful heart and I hope everyone can find something wonderful to take away from what she had to say in our interview. So, without further ado, here is my interview with Carrie Henning:

When did you first begin blogging?
I began blogging in the spring of 2013. My dad was beginning to blog, and (since I love) to write, I decide to join in.
How long did it take for your blog to begin seeing visitors to its site?
It took a few posts to begin to see followers, but after a few, people started sharing my posts on Facebook and Twitter, which allowed the traffic on my blog to grow.
What inspires you to keep blogging?
Writing has always been a strength in my life, and I was always writing for myself. So why not share it with others? I love seeing the Lord use my posts to glorify Himself. It’s also cool because I get messages thanking me for certain quotes, ideas, etc. So the encouragement I receive from readers helps to keep me going, too!
What has been the hardest thing to blog about?
The hardest thing to blog about has been just my vulnerability. As I started to write more, I realized I needed to be more vulnerable and honest with my readers. So that was a hard lesson I had to learn.
What is your life Bible verse and why?
One verse I’ve clung to is 2 Corinthians 2:17, which talks about being reborn in Christ. There is so much power in being reminded that we’re made new, and when I read that verse, I get the same goosebumps every time.
How do you use your blog to help other people?
I use my blog to help others by sharing how the Lord has healed me, how God speaks through Scripture, and how we are loved immensely. I think every reader needs something different, and I enjoy seeing the Lord use my writing to reach that need, whatever it may be.
With your new website launching, what do you hope to accomplish?
I have so many goals for my website, it’s almost absurd. But I felt the Lord telling me that this was something I needed to do. My goals include creating curriculum for girls to download/buy to study the Word, discussing topics of the faith that need to be biblically addressed, and stuff like that. I just want it to be a place where people can look and see God’s evident hand working through everything.
Do you ever plan to stop blogging or move on to another topic?
I hope to continue blogging for a long time, but I know a time will come where God shows me a different path, and I’m willing to follow His lead. But I’d love to continue this for as long as I can!
How has your life changed since you began blogging?
I feel like I have such a great outlet for my feelings and thoughts. I find freedom in writing, and every time I sit and blog, I feel so great at the end.
What advice do you have for those just starting out with a blog of their own?
If someone is thinking about starting a blog, my advice would be “blog, even when you don’t have time to.” It’s easy to get caught up in the chaos of life, don’t let blogging and writing get swept under the rug.
If you could blog about anything besides what you already do, what would it be? Why?
I’d love to blog more about Scripture. For example, creating Bible studies and guides.
What snippet of encouragement do you want other women to take away from you?
I hope that when women read my posts, they see a great hope. Not of myself, but a hope in Christ. I hope they see that even in the midst of pain and brokenness, the Lord sought me out and mended me; and He’ll do the same for everyone.
What is your favorite post that you ever wrote? Why?
My favorite post so far is one I did on the book of Hosea. It discusses how we are like the harlot in the story. We run from our Love and from our freedom, back to a life of bondage and sin. But how God is a faithful groom, who patiently awaits our arrival home.
How do you use social media to attract attention to your blog?
Any time I write a new post, I post a link via Facebook, Tumblr, and Twitter. Through that it gets shared!
What is your favorite blog to follow? Why?
 My current favorite blog is She Reads Truth. It’s a site full of devotions, studies, and discussions on different topics. It’s such a great resource and encouragement!
What has been the most unexpected, but positive, thing to come out of your blog?Honestly, the feedback I receive concerning my blog has been the most unexpected thing. I never expected that one day, I’d be buying my own site, blogging for hundreds of readers, and all that. It’s been crazy seeing it unfold!
How have you continued to expand your blog as its popularity grows?
I recently purchased a personal site, rather than blogging off of wordpress. The ministry I have started through this has an official “.com” link and everything!
Leave a Reply

