What to do after a PCOS Diagnosis

” May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

-Romans 15:13 (NIV)

What to do after a PCOS DiagnosisWhen I was first diagnosed with PCOS, I was fifteen and lacked any knowledge whatsoever on the topic. All I knew was my aunt had the same thing and it caused her to to go into premature labor with her first baby and lose her second baby. Knowing this scared me. After all, the idea of losing a child or being unable to have one was (and is) the worst possible scenario I could run through my head.

After I calmed down, I began to take the necessary steps towards making myself more knowledgeable on the topic of PCOS.

DO Your research

Being the good high school student I was, I already knew how to research the things I was interested in. So, with my health and future in mind, I began to do research on PCOS. I even did a presentation in my biology class on PCOS. I became so well aware of my PCOS that I could understand exactly what was going on inside of me.

I highly recommend every woman with PCOS does her own research. There are many great sources out there in order to easily understand this issue. One great site is pcosfoundation.org. This website provides resources and factual information regarding what we go through everyday.

Get a support system going!

I believe it is the most important thing for a woman with PCOS to have someone to turn to in the tough times. For me, it is my mom. She was there when I was diagnosed and she continues to be there every moment I feel down. When I have questions regarding my symptoms, I like to turn to women who know what I am talking about.

As a member of the Facebook group “PCOS Talk” I can ask the intimate questions and also lend a helping hand to other women with questions. Often times, it is as simple as asking which medication works best. Knowing that there is a group of women out there who can answer my burning questions makes me confident that I am not going to be in the dark.

Soulcysters.com is another great resource to get in touch with women, hear their stories and share yours!

Talk to your doctor

It may sound cliche, but talking to a doctor that you trust to help you and make the right decisions is the best thing you can do for yourself. No matter how much research you do on the topic of PCOS, no better resource is at your hands than the very knowledgeable doctor just one phone call away. When I was first diagnosed, I saw my Endocrinologist twice a year. Now I only see her once a year but every time I do I feel encouraged to keep fighting for my health.

Here is a great article on which doctors best treat PCOS!

Sources:

http://www.pcosfoundation.org

http://www.pcosjournal.com/who-treats-polycystic-ovarian-syndrome/

http://soulcysters.com

Leave a Reply

