Eating Gluten Free in D.C.

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

1 Corinthians 6:19-12; ESV

Last Saturday, my friend Claire and I took a day trip to Washington D.C. Despite our disappointment at the lack of cherry blossoms, we had an amzing time hopping from one museum to the next. Yes, we’re nerds.

After spending over an hour in the Holocaust museum, we met up with Claire’s parents to find a place to eat. I pulled out my phone and opened up my handy- dandy new app, “Find me Gluten Free”. It’s pretty amazing! The app uses my location to indicate which gluten friendly  restaurants are closest to me and shows ratings from other gluten intolerant patrons.

We decided to go to a Meditteranean eatery called Roti and I was really excited to try their gluten free pita bread. We walked the half mile from the National Mall to the food court at L’Enfant Plaza only to find that Roti was closed. On a Saturday!

Apparently that is a thing in D.C. Many eateries close on the weekend because the offices and places of business around them are also closed.

Upset about not being able to eat pita bread, we looked around for another place to eat. Next door to Roti was a place called Brown Bag. I remembered reading about this place in my “Find me Gluten Free” app as well, so I asked the manager if they had gluten free options. Not only were all of their salads gluten free, they also offered rice noodles for their pasta and gluten free bread for their sandwiches!

Gluten free Reuben sandwich from Brown Bag, Washington D.C.

I chose the Reuben on the gluten free roll. Paired with a bag of barbeque chips, it was a very filling meal and boy had I missed a good old reuben! I am not entirely certain about the risk of cross contamination (it is probably very high) but for me it was a great meal!

Later on that night, Claire and I headed over to the very famous Georgetown Cupcakes for dessert. After waiting over an hour in line, we finally got to order. Each day of the week, the bakery creates a unique gluten free cupcake. On Saturday, they bake a chocolate peanut butter cupcake. I ordered two, saving one for the next day.

Gluten Free chocolate peanut butter cupcake from Georgetown Cupcakes, Washington D.C.

I noticed that Georgetown kept their gluten free cupcakes separate from the rack of regular cupcakes. When I ordered, they also asked if they needed to change gloves or separate my cupcakes from the regular one I ordered for my roommate. I was very pleased to notice that they offered to take this extra precaution even though they were extremely busy. By the way, they were delicious!

All in all, I was very pleased with the gluten free options in and around our nation’s capital!

Sources:

http://www.findmeglutenfree.com

https://www.georgetowncupcake.com

http://roti.com

http://brownbagonline.com

2 thoughts on “Eating Gluten Free in D.C.

  1. hey soul cyster says:

    Hi! Happy to hear you found some great options on your trip! I have PCOS and have gone gluten free, myself. Your posts are very inspiring and I look forwArd to reading more! I like to posts my gluten free recipes on my blog for pcos women, hope you can check it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

