Five Foods every Woman with PCOS Needs in her Diet

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

Galatians 5:22-23; NIV


Five Superfoods every woman with PCOS needs in her diet

Growing up, my family had a list of go-to dinners that we would stick to religiously. On this list were things like spaghetti, burritos, burgers and a lot of very fattening, carb- filled foods. We hardly ever strayed from this list unless my mom really wanted to try out some new recipe for mac n’ cheese. Yet again, carb- ridden, cheesy goodness!

When I went off to college over 2,500 miles away, my mindset regarding what to eat changed a little bit. Freshman year, I still relied heavily on what the dining hall provided. Most days, I would reach for pizza or burgers because it had been pounded into me to reach for what tastes good, not what is good for me.

I still struggle with making the right food choices but now that I live in my own apartment I shop for and cook my own meals. It has, thankfully, made me think about what I put into my body. Do I still splurge? Of, course! But I am slowly branching out and trying things that I had never even heard of back home.

As a woman with PCOS, I recognize the importance of making the right food choices. Thankfully, many of my favorite foods ared actually pretty good for you. There are several lists of “PCOS Superfoods” out there, but I have decided to compile a list of my favorites.

So, without further ado, here are my top five PCOS Superfoods!

1. Avocados

I love mexican food and in my humble opinion, a taco is not a taco unless there is an avocado in it. Thank goodness that this wonderful fruit is anti- inflamatory in nature! According to PCOS Diet Support, “this anti-inflammatory property is important in terms of PCOS as we are prone to chronic inflammation.”

Inflammation increases a woman’s resistance to insulin, therefore tampering it down is perhaps one of the best ways to control PCOS symptoms.

2.Cinnamon

Who does not love sprinkling a little cinnamon into their hot cocoa? Am I right?  “Once Upon a Time” has certainly taught me the value of the wonderful drink that is cinnamon hot cocoa! Seriously, try it!

cinnamon hot cocoa from granny's diner, steveston B.C.

That being said, cinnamon is something of a super spice. Not only is it versatile and can be used in all types of dishes, it also has been shown to lower blood glucose in people with Type 2 Diabetes. For women with PCOS, this is important because the consumption of cinnamon helps to lower the body’s demand for Insulin.

PCOS Diet Support states that “Insulin acts on our ovaries to produce testosterone so if we can manage our insulin levels, we’ll be able to better manage our testosterone.” Once again, kicking our Insulin into submission could be the key to beating PCOS.

How much cinnamon per day does it take? Only three grams!

3. Coconut oil

I just recently began using coconut oil, so there is still much experimentation to be done in my household. I mostly use it on my skin, as it is a natural moisturizer but cannot wait to use it in more of my recipes.

According to Natural Alternative Therapies, “It provides the necessary building blocks for hormone production and it has dozens of other benefits, such as weight loss, inflammation reduction and even antimicrobial and antibacterial properties.”

Sounds like a win- win to me!

4.Sweet Potatoes

All in all, sweet potatoes are a healthier carb than other types of potatoes. They are on the low glycemic index, therefore promising low sugar but a tasty outcome! My preferred method for eating them are as sweet potato fries. I just love the combination of sweet and salty!

5. Black Beans

Black Bean Brownies with strawberries

According to Top 10 Home Remedies, “black beans are rich in fiber that helps regulate blood sugar levels, which helps reduce fertility issues such as polycystic ovary syndrome and immunological issues while promoting a healthy hormonal balance.”

Sounds good to me!

I love using black beans in all of my cooking. If anything, I just use them as a side dish. They are also extremely versatile. In a moment of weakness, I decided to make brownies using them, and it turned out amazing!

That is it for my five favorite PCOS Superfoods! What are your favorite PCOS super foods? How do you incorporate them into your everyday diet? Let me know in the comments below!

Blessings,

Brianna

Sources:

http://www.pcosdietsupport.com/diet-tips/pcos-superfoods/

http://abc.go.com/shows/once-upon-a-time

http://www.natural-alternative-therapies.com/natural-remedies-for-pms/

http://www.top10homeremedies.com/superfoods/top-10-superfoods-boost-fertility.html/2

http://hip2save.com/2014/03/07/black-bean-brownies/

Leave a Reply

